ray.jpg

I’ve been off the tobacco now for, uh, gosh, forever it seems like.  Really, for about four days. 

I’ve been thinking about smoking every minute of the day.  The physical craving is gone (thanks, Pfizer!,) but the animal urge to fill up my idle time smoking is like a consuming fire.  I can’t remember what I did with myself before I smoked, and that is killing me.  It seems like the entire time I was smoking, I was either (a) asleep, (b) smoking, or (c) wondering when I could smoke again. 

I told a friend of mine this story on the way home tonight.  He said that when folks quit smoking, it’s like getting off of horse. (That’s heroin, for those of you who didn’t go to state school.)  The physical addiction goes away, but you think about it every day for the rest of your life.

 I hope Pfizer comes up with a drug to kill that impulse soon.

WAC

