(This, by the way, is the afore promised “shocking news”, not the news that I got a job.  Getting a job didn’t shock me.  The following did.  Considerably.)

angiol.gif

A bit of happy and very surprising news.  The other day, I got a letter in the mail which informed me that I had been nominated for membership in the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulcher, an ecclesiastical order of Knighthood in the Catholic Church, and that this nomination had been vetted with my pastor and bishop, and that I had been formally approved.

I assume that this has something to do with my work for the Franciscans at the monastery in Washington.  I have been a big advocate of the Franciscan charism of protecting the shrines in the Holy Land, as evidenced by my “Bloggers’ Crusade” project (click the link on the sidebar.)  I started volunteering at the monastery in my first year of law school, and have found a great deal of spiritual peace and comfort in the work.  It is, I think, my favorite thing to do outside of my family.

While I am very please to now be a permanent part of the Church’s work in the Holy Land, I am a bit overwhelmed by the honor.  (I personally think of it as more of a call to continuing service, but it is, by itself, a tremendous honor.)  The Order was founded in the 11th century by Godfrey de Bullion, and has ever since served the Catholic cause in the Holy Land.  I am flabbergasted, thankful, and deeply touched.

And, no, you don’t have to call me “Sir”.

Unless you want to.

WAC

